The short finger of Pat Cummins and how it actually helps him.

CumminsFinger.png

As Cummins sent down his first over in Test cricket today since his one and only previous Test in 2011, former Australia quick Brett Lee recalled during Star Sports commentary how the speedster had lost the top of the middle finger on his bowling hand.

Cummins told the story himself in an exclusive interview with cricket australia in 2011, shortly before his debut in South Africa.

“I lost the top of my finger when I was about three or four (years old),” a baby-faced Cummins recalled.

“It got slammed in a door and I lost about a centimetre off the top of my finger.

“It doesn’t really affect me because (the finger) is about the same length as the other one (index finger).”

The New South Welshman then added with a smile: “I still get my sister in tears … (because) she slammed the door on it.”

The shortened digit clearly hasn’t had any effect on Cummins’s ability as a cricketer, even though the middle finger on a paceman’s bowling hand is crucial, particularly when trying to generate out-swing.

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

